Reading Log

Frazzled — Booki Vivat

Genre: Fiction

This is a novel scattered with cartoon drawings of a young melodramatic girl who is entering 6th grade and believes that it will be the worst thing that has and will ever happen to her. Can she survive middle school when it’s the absolute worst? She finds her place in school when she coordinates the great underground snack-swap for her fellow middle school peers. But can that save her from impending doom?

This book was everything I didn’t know I needed. It was hilarious from cover to cover, and Abbie Wu is my literary spirit animal. She is so entirely melodramatic about every little thing that happens to her (a classic middle child), and this drama is only emphasised by Vivat’s perfectly crafted cartoons throughout the novel.

I wanted to share every page of this book with everyone around me, and to many people’s possible annoyance, there were times that I did. It is sitting on a window sill at the library currently, not going out, and I want to shove it in the hands of everyone I know that has been through middle school and has come out the other end alive. It will make reliving those tough years enjoyable if you just let Abbie be your guide.

So without further ado, may I present to you, Abbie Wu:

image1

 

Vivat, B. (2016). Frazzled : everyday disasters and impending doom. New York, NY: Harper.

Leave a comment