Reading Log

StoryJumper — A Website

Genre: Website

The past few weeks have been a whirlwind of things happening in my life, most of which are very exciting! Even though I covet what little down time I have on the day to day, I have recently signed on to organize a number of projects which all have really really excited. I’m really feeling like I’m carving out my niche in the librarian world, even though I’m not a full-fledged professional librarian yet.

One of the most exciting projects I’m working on is to develop a makerspace in my community! I mentioned this in my post about my dream makerspace and it’s finally official! My library doesn’t have the space we really want and need to develop a maker space with storage and free play area, so the Children’s Librarian, myself, and a motivated community member are going to be looking at a proposed space and talking next steps early next week. Keep your fingers crossed for us that it comes together relatively quickly!

Since we’re really seriously working towards starting this space I’ve been spending quite a bit of time looking at ideas for possible programs to reach a wide number of children and youth through the makerspace. So, I’m pretty excited to share with you all a tool that I learned about this week!

StoryJumper is a free online tool to allow people to create their own story books! It’s so easy to use, you can even read my super simple book below. I’m not very creative on the spot, so it’s just about how to start making a book by using the site since I was just trying to play around with it fast. You can import pictures as Scenery or Props to be used either as the background of the pages or as items on the pages, but there are also tons of free graphics to use too!

It’s super simple to use and could really help encourage young people to start thinking about what goes into creating a book, and how to put their ideas into a real format for viewing.

With the free account, you can create, share, and read an unlimited number of books. You can also publish your book as a hardcover or paperback! I encourage you to check it out and if you work with youth in any way, consider sharing this with them or running a workshop to allow them to explore what the site has to offer.

 

StoryJumper. (2016). Storyjumper [Website]. Retrieved from: http://www.storyjumper.com

Leave a Reply

